INTERVISTA ALLE AUTRICI DI CUORI FERITI

wp-1475781557561.jpg

Buonasera miei cari Lettori e Lettrici, sono qui per parlarvi della sorpresa che vi dicevo in questi giorni sulla mia pagina facebook.

Ho fatto una doppia intervista alle autrici del libro Cuori Feriti, per chi si fosse perso la mia recensione ve la lascio qui.

Allora, prima di tutto mi scuso per il mio pessimo inglese e per la mia pessima traduzione, se ci fosse errori, fatemelo sapere e provvederò a correggerli.

Vi lascia sia l’intervista in inglese che quella tradotta.

 INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHORS OF WOUNDED HEARTS

 

  1. What do you feel when you write a book?

BLMorticia: I feel joy when I first write a book. There’s so much work that goes into it, but beginning a new story is always exciting!

 

Remmy Duchene: I agree. Sometimes I get overly excited and stop writing another book to focus on this new idea—which is never a good thing since now I have tons of unfinished stories lying around.

 

  1. How did your passion for writing? At what age did you start writing and what, or who, led her to do to you?

BLMorticia: I’ve been writing since I was about 13, albeit mostly silly poetry. Around 20, I started doing erotic short stories. All hetero. *laughs* A lot of them based on my favorite singers or actors. No one I know inspired me to do it, I just love telling stories and building my own worlds.

 

Remmy Duchene:  LOL! Me too. I wrote poems that probably weren’t all that good but to me they were genius!  I’ve always been a very big reader, ever since I was little. I dabbled in writing from time to time when I had an assignment in school and people usually asked me to write things for them but it wasn’t until I moved to Canada that one of my English teachers took me aside and said “you have some talent. You should try doing this professionally. I think I was about 14 or 15 by then

 

 

  1. What do you do besides writing?

BLMorticia: In my real life job I am a retail vendor. YUCK. I’m also a wife, mom, and part time music journalist.

 

Remmy Duchene: During the day I am a legal assistant. I’m also a wanna be photographer and blogger.

 

  1. In addition to writing, you’re also a reader? What kind you love to read more?

BLMorticia: I love reading romance. Very rarely do I read books outside of romance, but occasionally I’ll dip into a murder mystery or psychological thriller.

 

Remmy Duchene: I love reading romance. But sometimes I have to get away from it so I will read anything that happens in foreign countries. I love murder mysteries too and some fantasy.

 

  1. Where do you get inspiration for your characters? In which you recognize yourself the most?

BLMorticia: My characters are usually the sexy men I’ve seen on Instagram or Facebook, but it could also be men I’ve met before. Since I write about music, a few of my characters are inspired by musicians I’ve met. Truthfully, many of my characters are the exact opposite of me. Other than a few small traits or idiosyncrasies, they are their own people.  As far as Wounded Hearts, Cyrus is nothing like me. The only trait we share is our love for brown liquor. *laughs*

 

Remmy Duchene: Inspiration – All over my city. These men are from all cultures and walks of life – it’s beautiful. Sometimes I’ll see a guy and imagine a story for him. A good 99.9 % o the time my characters are the exact opposite from me. The best friends may share some personality traits with me or my niece but I try to create men that can stand out with their own souls. Zane in Wounded Hearts – I got the idea for him from a guy who bought me a drink in a bar about a week before we started planning the book.

 

  1. How did you choose the names of the characters in your book?

BLMorticia: For Wounded Hearts, the scruffy old man just looked like a Cyrus. When I think of Cyrus, he is all masculine, proud, maybe even a bit boorish. That is what I saw when I wrote his character.

 

Remmy Duchene: Right, BL. The guy who bought me the drink – his name was Ash. I knew I wanted to use that in there somewhere – So Ashford became Zane’s last name. I actually wanted to name him Cain but after searching out the names I decided on Zane because it rolls so much better off the tongue.

 

  1. That motto quote you? If you have one what?

BLMorticia: My favorite quote is never tell a book by its cover. I don’t look the part of a metalhead mom, but I certainly am one. *grin*

 

Remmy Duchene: A Japanese friend of mine always tells me “kishi kaisei” It basically means, “wake from death and return to life.” In other words, no matter what happens or how down you become, get up and carry on.

 

  1. Ebook or Paper? Which of the two you prefer to read books?

BLMorticia: Because I have a Kindle reader, I prefer ebook. I can’t buy too many paperbacks because I don’t have that kind of room in my apartment.

 

Remmy Duchene: Before I started working in the law office I would have said ebook but now that I stare at a computer screen all day, when I go home and decide to read, I prefer paperback. They cost a pretty penny but saving my eye sight lol.

 

  1. How would you take it if someone wrote a negative review about your book?

BLMorticia: I would ignore it. What people must remember is a review is an opinion. Unfortunately, a lot of people pay attention to those reviews when they decide to buy a book. I don’t. Personally, I wouldn’t use a bad review a reason not to buy it. In contrast, too many good reviews might change my mind.

 

Remmy Duchene: I get those from time to time. After over ten years in this industry I’ve learned not everyone is going to like everything you write and that’s cool. You take the review, pick out the constructive criticism in it and use it to make your next story better and ignore the rest. If there’s no constructive criticism in the review, then ignore it and move on to the next book.

 

  1. It was difficult to write the book Wounded Hearts four hands? You get along or there have been difficult moments? Do it again with another author?

BLMorticia: What’s interesting is Remmy and I live in two different countries. I live in the US, in Chicago Illinois and she lives in Canada. We wrote the whole book as well as the follow-up all through Google Docs. We emailed each other back and forth, facebook messaged each other. We’ve never met in person. Of course the process wasn’t all rosy. There were some points we disagreed on things, but all in all, I find her a joy to work with. She’s very talented and I consider her a friend. We are working on another book together as we speak. I haven’t co-wrote with anyone else as of yet. I might somewhere down the line, but Remmy and I have a few more to do.

 

Remmy Duchene:  At times, yes, because of where I live, I think I was an hour ahead of you, BL at one point before Daylight Savings Time kicked in. So that too was another thing to deal with. And don’t forget the constant “can you see me now?” in the google chat boxes *cries*. But working with BL was super cool. I have co-written with two other people before but one nothing ever came of it because her life became kind of crazy and the other—well, that’s a long story. But a writing relationship doesn’t have to be perfect. As long as we agree that we both want the best story possible out there, the rest will just fall into place.

INTERVISTA ALLE AUTRICI DI CUORI FERITI

  1. Che cosa provi quando scrivi un libro?

BLMorticia: Sono felice quando scrivo un libro. C’è così tanto lavoro da fare, iniziare una nuova storia è sempre emozionante!

Remmy Duchene: Sono d’accordo. A volte sono piena di idee e devo smettere di scrivere il libro e mi concentro su questa nuova idea – che non è mai una buona cosa dato che ora ho un sacco di storie incompiute in giro.

  1. Com’è è nata la passione per la scrittura? A che età hai iniziato a scrivere e cosa, oppure chi, ti ha portata a farlo?

BLMorticia: Scrivo da quando ho 13 anni, ho provato anche la poesia ma non è andata bene. Intorno ai 20 anni, ho iniziato a scrivere racconti erotici. Tutti etero. * ride * Molti racconti sono ispirati dai miei cantanti preferiti o attori. Nessuno mi ha spinto a farlo, mi piace raccontare storie e costruire il mio mondo.

Remmy Duchene: LOL! Anche io. Ho scritto poesie che probabilmente non erano affatto buone ma per me erano geniali! Sono sempre stata una grande lettrice, fin da quando ero piccola. Scrivevo di volta in volta quando avevo incarichi a scuola e la gente di solito mi chiedeva di scrivere le cose per loro, poi uno dei miei insegnanti di inglese che si è trasferito in Canada mi prese da parte e mi disse: “Hai talento. Dovresti provare a scrivere in modo professionale.” Credo che avevo all’incirca 14 o 15 allora.

  1. Cosa fai nella vita oltre a scrivere?

BLMorticia: Io sono una venditrice al dettaglio. CHE SCHIFO. Sono anche una moglie, mamma, e giornalista musicale part-time.

Remmy Duchene: Durante il giorno sono un assistente legale. Sono anche una fotografa e blogger.

  1. Oltre a scrivere, sei anche una lettrice? Quale genere ami leggere di più?

BLMorticia: Adoro leggere libri romantici. Molto raramente leggo libri che non sono romantici, ma di tanto in tanto mi immergo in un giallo o thriller psicologico.

Remmy Duchene: Amo leggere libri romantici. Ma a volte devo leggere anche ciò che accade nei paesi stranieri. Amo i gialli e un po’ anche i fantasy.

  1. Dove trai ispirazione per i tuoi personaggi? In quali ti riconosci maggiormente?

BLMorticia: I miei personaggi sono di solito ispirati agli uomini sexy che vedo su Instagram o Facebook, ma potrebbero anche essere uomini che ho incontrato. Dal momento che scrivo di musica, alcuni dei miei personaggi sono ispirati ai musicisti che ho incontrato. In verità, molti dei miei personaggi sono l’esatto opposto di me. Tranne che di un paio di piccoli tratti o idiosincrasie. Per quanto riguarda Cuori Feriti, Cyrus è come me. L’unica caratteristica che condividiamo è il nostro amore per il liquore marrone. *ride*

Remmy Duchene: Mi ispiro alla mia città. Questi uomini sono di tutte le culture e ceti sociali. A volte vedo un ragazzo e immagino una storia per lui. I miei personaggi sono l’esatto opposto di me. I migliori amici possono condividere alcuni tratti di personalità con me o mia nipote, ma cerco di creare uomini che possono stare con le loro anime. Zane di Cuori Feriti – ho avuto l’idea per lui attraverso un ragazzo che mi ha offerto un drink in un bar circa una settimana prima e da lì abbiamo iniziato a pianificare il libro.

  1. Come hai scelto i nomi dei personaggi del tuo libro?

BLMorticia: Per cuori feriti, un vecchio trasandato da solo sembrava Cyrus.

Quando penso a Cyrus, lo immagino: maschile, orgoglioso, forse anche un po’ rozzo. Questo è quello che ho visto quando ho scritto il suo personaggio.

Remmy Duchene: Il ragazzo che mi ha comprato la bevanda – il suo nome era Ash. Sapevo che lo volevo usare da qualche parte – Così Ashford è diventato il cognome di Zane. Io in realtà volevo chiamarlo Cain, ma dopo aver cercato i nomi ho deciso su Zane, perché si rotola molto meglio fuori la lingua.

7. Che motto citazione hai? Se ne hai uno qual’è?

BLMorticia: La mia citazione preferita è: Mai giudicare un libro dalla sua copertina. Io non guardo solo la parte della copertina. *sorriso*

Remmy Duchene: Un amico giapponese dice sempre “Kaisei Kishi”. Significa in sostanza: ” Risvegliati dalla morte e torna alla vita”. In altre parole, non importa cosa succede o quanto in basso si vada, ma bisogna sempre alzarsi e andare avanti.

8. Ebook oppure Cartaceo? Quali dei due preferisci per leggere libri?

BLMorticia: Ho un lettore Kindle, quindi preferisco ebook. Non riesco a comprare cartacei perché non ho una stanza grande nel mio appartamento.

Remmy Duchene: Prima di iniziare a lavorare in un ufficio di legge ti avrei detto ebook ma ora che sto davanti allo schermo di un computer tutto il giorno, quando vado a casa decido di leggere libri cartacei. Costano di più, ma salvano la vista, lol.

  1. Come la prenderesti se una persona scrivesse una recensione negativa sul tuo libro?

BLMorticia: Vorrei ignorarlo. Quello che la gente deve ricordare è che un recensione è un’opinione. Purtroppo, un sacco di gente presta attenzione a questo tipo di recensioni quando decidono di acquistare un libro. Io personalmente, non vorrei fare una recensione negativa solo per non fare acquistare quel determinato libro. Al contrario, troppe recensioni positive potrebbero far cambiare idea.

Remmy Duchene: Le ottengo di volta in volta. Dopo più di dieci anni in questo settore ho imparato che a non tutti piace ciò che si scrive. Si prende la recensione, si individua quelle con critiche costruttive e si tengono ad esempio per migliorare il lavoro. Se non c’è una critica costruttiva, poi ignorarle e passare al successivo libro.

  1. È stato difficile scrivere il libro Cuori Feriti a quattro mani ? Siete andate d’accordo oppure ci sono stati momenti difficili ? Lo rifaresti con un altro autore?

    BLMorticia: La cosa interessante è che Remmy e io viviamo in due paesi diversi. Io vivo negli Stati Uniti, a Chicago, Illinois e lei vive in Canada. Abbiamo scritto tutto il libro attraverso Google Docs. Ci siamo mandate molti messaggi su Facebook. Non ci siamo mai incontrate di persona. Naturalmente il processo non è stato tutto rose e fiori. Ci sono stati alcuni punti in cui non siamo andate d’accordo, ma tutto sommato, sono stata felice di lavorare con lei ha molto talento e mi ritengo una sua amica. Stiamo lavorando su un altro libro insieme mentre parliamo. Non ho ancora co-scritto con qualcun’altro. Potrei pensarci, ma Remmy e io abbiamo molto da fare.

    Remmy Duchene: A volte, sì, perché dove vivo io, penso di essere stata un’ ora avanti a voi, questa con BLMorticia è stata un’altra delle cose che abbiamo affrontato… E non dimenticare la domanda costante “mi puoi vedere ora?” nella chat di Google * piange *. Ma lavorare con BL è super meraviglioso. Ho co-scritto con altre due persone prima, ma una non è mai andata avanti, perché la sua vita era diventata folle mentre l’altra è andata bene, ma è una lunga storia. Un rapporto di scrittura non deve essere perfetto. Finché andiamo d’accordo e vogliamo entrambe una storia migliore.

Spero vi abbia fatto piacere conoscere meglio queste due autrici, sono stata felice di averle ospitate nel mio blog. E non vedo l’ora di leggere il seguito di questo stupendo libro.

interviste

 

2 thoughts on “INTERVISTA ALLE AUTRICI DI CUORI FERITI

Rispondi

